Program Description

LTAP /TTAP is established to assist tribal governments and local transportation agencies to develop and expand expertise in the development and delivery of transportation programs and projects.

LTAP/TTAP is composed of a network of 58 Centers - one in every state, one in Puerto Rico and seven regional Centers serving 566 tribal governments. The LTAP/TTAP Centers enable local public agencies and Tribal governments to manage their transportation system through a variety of training programs, technical assistance, technology transfer, and information exchange. Through these core services, LTAP/TTAP provides access to knowledge and information that may not have otherwise been accessible. LTAP/TTAP Centers are able to provide their customers with workforce development services; resources to enhance safety and security; and solutions to infrastructure management challenges.

General Program Requirements

All federally-recognized Tribes are eligible to participate in this program.

Your Next Steps

The following information will lead you to the next steps to apply for this program.

Application Process

Tribes should contact their servicing TTAP Center for questions or additional information regarding the training, technical assistance and technology transfer resources available. A listing of the TTAP Centers is available here.

Program Contact Information

Jeffrey Zaharewicz
LTAP/TTAP Program Manager, FHWA Office of Innovative Program Delivery
(703) 235-0991

Additional Information

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) Number20.215
Current Method of Tribal EligibilityProgram not specific to American Indians and Alaska Natives, but they are eligible
Funding TypeMandatory
Recurring Base Funding for TribesNo
Do Tribes compete with other entities for funding from the program?No

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Try using our Benefit Finder questionnaire to view a list of benefit programs you may be eligible to receive.